Shortbread With An Asian Twist

11 Jan

Time for another shortbread post! Shortbread is my all-time favorite type of cookie. It’s buttery, light and slightly sweet. But what I love most about shortbread is that you can experiment with so many variations, from savory to sweet to somewhere in the middle. For my latest experiment, I was making something special for my parents highlighting some of my favorite Asian flavors: matcha (green tea) powder and black sesame seeds. So here’s my shortbread with an Asian twist: Macha Sesame Shortbread Flowers!

IMG_7275recipe card

machasesame

This recipe makes about 60 cookies. Put all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until a dough forms.

IMG_7237

Form the dough into a disc and wrap in plastic wrap. Chill the dough in the refrigerator for about an hour to let it set.

IMG_7241

When you’re ready to work with the dough, preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Take dough out of the refrigerator and cut into four parts. I do this, so the dough is more manageable to roll, but you can cut it in half as well.

IMG_7253Take one of the quarters and roll into a ball. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough to about 1/3-1/2″ thick. I wanted my shortbread to look like little flowers, so I used a 2″ flower cookie cutter.

IMG_7262

Take each flower and dip one side in sugar and then place a few sesame seeds in the middle. Place on cookie sheet.

IMG_7258IMG_7259IMG_7263Bake the cookies in the oven for 10-12 minutes. Let the cookies cool on a wire rack. You can serve them right away or pack them in airtight container. But trust me, these won’t last very long at all!

IMG_7268I absolutely loved these cookies! Not only are they absolutely adorable, but the flavor combination of matcha powder and black sesame seeds worked so well together. I was having dinner that night at my favorite sushi restaurant, so I brought some cookies for the chef, he totally approved.  I still have matcha and sesame seeds left over, so am thinking about what else I can make!

One Response to “Shortbread With An Asian Twist”

  1. loveandmuses April 23, 2013 at 5:10 PM #

    Amazing! Your creations always have my mouth watering on instagram. I will have to try these recipes out. Looking forwarding to reading more posts. -Sueann

Leave a Reply

