Blue Cheese Pecan Shortbread

28 Jun

For Father’s Day this year, I decided to test a savory shortbread idea for my dad. I like testing my shortbread flavor ideas on him, since he’s such a willing guinea pig. I had some leftover pecans from making bourbon balls and decided to add blue cheese to add some real flavor. So here goes with my Blue Cheese Pecan Shortbread.

IMG_7199

This recipe has only six ingredients and makes about 3 dozen cookies. Shortbread is the easiest cookie to make and is so adaptable for new flavors, I’m constantly trying out new ideas. All the mixing is done in a food processor, so it really is foolproof.

photo (81)

Pulse the butter and blue cheese in food processor until smooth and blended together.

IMG_7182

Add the sugar, flour, salt and pulse until crumbly.

IMG_7183

Add the pecans and pulse until all combined.

IMG_7184

Transfer the dough to a surface dusted with flour and knead dough into a ball.

IMG_7185

I cut the dough in half and rolled them into logs and wrapped them in clear plastic wrap. Place the logs on a plate and keep in the refrigerator to set the dough for at least an hour. This dough can also be wrapped and stored in the freezer. When you’re ready to bake, just take the logs out and slice frozen.

IMG_7186

When you’re ready to bake, pre-heat to oven to 375 degrees. Take the logs out of the fridge and slice cookies. I cut mine about 1/4-1/2 inch thick, I wanted these to be a bit thicker and then topped each cookie with crushed pecans. Bake in the oven for 12-14 minutes, until they are golden brown.

IMG_7195

Let the cookies cool for a few minutes. You can eat these still warm or store them in an airtight container and eat whenever you want.

IMG_7199

These cookies turned out great, but they were a bit softer than my usual shortbread, which is not a bad thing. I may play with the amount of sugar the next time I make these to make them a bit sweeter. But then again, I will probably think of a new shortbread idea to test by then. Already been thinking about using whole wheat flour for something a bit healthier.

Leave a Reply

